Our Classes

Organisation of Classes

Children spend 7 years at primary school. At Fairford Primary we have 11 classes.

Children are taught in 3 Key Stages:

Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS)

When children first start school they enter Reception Class

Age 4 and 5 years

Key Stage 1 (KS1)

Years 1 and 2. Age 5 to 7 years

Key Stage 2 (KS2)

Years 3 to 6. Age 7 to 11 years

We have given each class the name of a tree as follows:



Age 4-5 years

Year 1

Elderberry and Cherry

Age 5-6 years

Year 2


Age 5-7 years

Year 3

Oak and Olive

Age 7-8 years

Year 4

Willow and Walnut

Age 8-9 years

Year 5

Maple and Mulberry

Age 9-10 years

Year 6


Age 10-11 years


The children are grouped into four houses: Hawks, Eagles, Falcons and Kestrels. There is friendly competition between houses, and house points are awarded for effort, kindness and helpfulness. Children collect stamps and stickers on individual merit cards. Certificates, special achievements are celebrated during assemblies. The House Trophy is awarded at the end of each term and children given a house treat such as extra play or a non-uniform day.